Beauty Bulletin

Review Detail

4.8 6 0.5
Shimmers, Bronzers, Self Tans February 23, 2012 1044
Overall rating

Price

Quality

Effectiveness

I was recommended by my friend to try this self tanner because she said it worked so well. I have never tried self-tanners before this, so I was a bit cautious and hesitant, because I didn't want to look like an Asian version of Jersey Shore ;).

What I love most about this product is that it comes in different shades - light, medium and dark - so you can decide how tanned you want to look by your current skin tone. I picked the medium tan one. I also picked the pump-action bottle because I wanted to use a cream product, rather than a spray.

Many self tanners require you to exfoliate before using it, but I found this product to work well, even though I didn't exfoliate. What was surprising was that the cream that came out of the bottle was white. I was expecting it to be bronze or brown. It applied evenly and blended easily just like normal body cream would. It did have a different smell though, the smell isn't pleasant but its not offensive either.

This product did not streak at all. What I did was I started applying this product from my leg upwards after I showered and dried myself really well. I applied on my shins and thighs first and only used what remained on my hands on top of my feet, ankles and knee area. I did this to prevent applying too much product on these areas, where you are prone to look darker easier. Then I applied on the middle section of my body and my arms. With my arms I applied the same principle. Starting on my forearm first, then my upper arm area and applying what remained on my hands and elbows. Wash hands immediately (especially between the fingers where your "webs" are). I then use a towel that I don't mind staining, and gentle rub the ankle and elbow area to remove any excess product.