Review Detail

4.1 3 0.5
Powders February 10, 2015 173
Smashbox Step-By-Step Contouring Palette
Overall rating

Price

Quality

Effectiveness

I am fairly new to contouring and there isn't exactly a wide variety of contouring palettes available to purchase in South Africa, so you can imagine my excitement when I was selected to review this product!

BB sent over this product about 2 weeks back, between now and then I have been playing around with it trying to 'contour' in the correct manner, I think I finally got the hang of it, but there is still definitely room for improvement!

My findings:

Packaging - Sleek black and compact with a large mirror and step by step instructions insert on how to contour the face. It can be easily slipped into you bag or clutch without taking up much space! As a total beginner, the insert proves to be some what helpful, but as I went along I found that the precise application as depicted in the insert is kind of useless. Everyone has a different facial shape, so will there for contour differently to achieve different effects! Needless to say I no longer pay any attention to the insert.

It comes with a really cute angled brush which is both a hit and a miss. It picks up product beautifully, but unfortunately when applying the product to the face it seems to be all over the place and the product fall out is horrible. When contouring you need to use a brush that will offer a more precise and controlled application. This is a good as a travel blusher brush, nothing more.

Product Formula / Application - AMAZING! This is a powder contour palette, the powders are buttery soft and HIGHLY pigmented! it picks up easily on the brush and blends really smoothly. There is unfortunately a lot of fall out which equals wastage! Due to the high pigmentation, do not be heavy handed as you will most likely spend the next hour trying to blend out streaks (as I found out in the beginning haha)